Q&A with Tokino Sora (Sorabiyori)

A short Q&A with Tokino Sora from her first photo compilation Sorabiyori – even devoted fans might find a thing or two they don’t know about her yet! This is our second translation from Tokino Sora‘s Sorabiyori – you can read the first, more comprehensive interview, here. Lots of trivia here! Sora’s reference to tough times likely includes feeling overwhelmed when they were producing the first season on Watanuki-san chi no as mentioned in the previously linked article. Links have been added by us within the article for your convenience.

You can purchase Sorabiyori on Amazon Japan here.

Hi there!
One, two…
I’m Tokino Sora!

Name: Tokino Sora
Date of birth: 5/15/2000
Place of birth: Tokyo
Height: 160 cm
Fan name: Sora-tomo
Goal: A solo concert at Yokohama Arena

09/17/2017: She starts her career
05/03/2018: New outfit debut
03/27/2019: Her big debut with Victor Entertainment with the album Dreaming!
09/04/2019: Acting debut on Watanuki-san chi no
10/06/2019: First one man live opens
02/14/2020: First photo compilation Sorabiyori goes on sale
03/04/2020: Release of mini-album My Loving

Hobby:

Shrine visiting

Skill:

Imitating my friends’ voices

Describe your personality in one phrase:

I go my own way

Favorite color:

Pink, light blue

Strength:

I’m positive about everything

Weakness:

I’m too free-spirited

Favorite drink:

Peach Irohasu

Favorite food:

Most sweets, my mom’s homemade gyoza, meat

Food you dislike:

Most raw food, tomatoes, shiitake

Favorite candy:

Meltykiss

Favorite fragrance:

I generally don’t wear perfume or things like that, but I like sweet fragrances and the natural smell of soap

Favorite anime:

Higurashi no naku no koro ni

Favorite character:

Jasmine (Aladdin)

Favorite season:

Spring! The flowers are beautiful and it’s a comfortable time of year

Favorite type of guy:

When I see someone who’s considerate or someone who’s childlike in a good way, I think they’re fantastic

Favorite animal:

I love cats! ♡

The first thing you do in the morning after you get up:

I’ve been busy lately, so I’ve been falling out of routine, but saying “good morning!”

Your favorite part of yourself:

My eyes! I’m someone who you can usually tell what I’m thinking just by looking at my face, and a lot of times that means I’m appealing to people with my eyes, so… (laughing)

Something you have a habit of doing without thinking:

I have a habit of tapping my feet when I’m restless. I get fidgety if I can’t move around

A focal point from your casual outfits:

A ribbon on a one piece dress! I think even a simple-seeming one-piece dress can look showy if you put a ribbon on the front!

Something you always do before a stream:

Check what I’m doing on that day’s stream. I take a lot of notes on my phone about what it seems like we’ll be talking about or how we’ll be shooting it, so I look them over

How are your reflexes?:

I’m in the middle of training to be able to sing and dance in concert!

Favorite saying:

If you like something you get better at it

What would you do with a million yen?:

Save half, use half for stuff like meals and travel with my friends and family

Who do you admire?:

I can’t really decide, but I admire everyone who’s doing the same thing I’m doing

Your specialty for karaoke:

“Taiyoukei Disco.” There’s a video up of me singing this too, but it feels good being in the moment and singing my heart out to songs in a high key, so I just find myself singing it

When do you feel happy?:

When I’m together with the people I love

Something you’re collecting:

Goshuin [stamps from shrines]. I’ve always liked visiting shrines, but I’ve been getting them as proof I’ve visited so I’ve been collecting them

What you would do with a week’s vacation:

I wanna travel kinda far

The biggest decision you’ve made up to now:

Starting to do this. I need courage to challenge myself with an environment where I’m doing lots of things that I wouldn’t normally be doing, but I’m happy I did it

A country you’d like to visit:

Australia

The thing you’re most afraid of:

Things you can’t see

Somewhere you want to go with Yuujin-A (A-chan):

I wanna go to an amusement park! Haunted houses, roller coasters, I wanna have a blast together!

A game you’d recommend:

For horror games, Yume Nikki; for rhythm games, Deemo; these are both games that made me enjoy gaming

Something you want to do with Ankimo:

I wanna dress up in a bear kigurumi and do a show together! It seems like if a kigurumi bear and a bear that moves around were to do something, it’d be interesting!

If you were to bring something to a deserted island…:

A-chan! It seems like she comes up with all sorts of ideas so I feel like we’d get by there!

The toughest thing you’ve experienced:

I’ve had times when I haven’t been able to keep up with how fast things are going on around me, and I’ve been at my limit. I’ve also had times where I’ve felt like I’m getting crushed by the gap between the ideal and the reality of something

How did you overcome those?:

By listening to the people around me who support me and really taking their advice, I was able to think I was fine doing things my own way

If you had a time machine, where would you go?:

I wanna go to the Sengoku era. It’s an era that’s been described in a lot of works, so I wanna actually see it

Something you’d want to try if you were a guy:

I’d wanna play it cool and do a kabe-don (laughing). I’d wanna try out what being cool as a guy is like as much as I could

Your source of energy:

The power I get from my Sora-tomo and lots of other people! When I feel the presence of everyone around me, I’m able to spend another day working hard!!

If you were reborn, what would you like to be?:

Even if I were reborn, I’d wanna be me! Though I think it’d be nice if I still had the memories I have right now

via panora

The work you like the most:

Events where I get to see everyone! Together with lots of Sora-tomo and staff, I love the atmosphere we create!

Something you want to challenge yourself with next:

I wanna appear on a variety show! I wanna hone my skills as a regular on one

Where do you see yourself 10 years from now?:

Having fun with my Sora-tomo, the same as now

Leave a comment